Who are you?

Scripture:  Then some Jews who went around trying to drive out demons attempted to use the name of the Lord Jesus on those who had evil spirits, saying, “I command you by that Jesus whom Paul preaches!” Seven sons of a Jewish high priest named Sceva were doing this. But the evil spirit said to them, “I know Jesus, and I am acquainted with Paul, but who are you?” Then the man with the evil spirit jumped on them, got the better of them, and so violently overpowered all of them that they fled out of the house naked and bruised.  (Act 19:13-16 ISV)

Message from the Word:  Do you know who you are in Christ?  In this scripture, there were certain Jews who tried to cast out demons using the name of Jesus. The problem was, that they didn’t know who they were! Even the demons asked that of them! Many Christians today do not know who they are in Christ. This means that they are not living the life that God wants for them. Furthermore, because they do not know who they are in Christ, they allow the world and the devil to beat them up and overpower them. Because they don’t know who they are they allow the world and the devil to tell them that they can’t do anything, that they are weak, unloved, and hopeless. But let me share a few things that God says about you. God says that you are the light of the world (Matt 5:14). You are beloved of God (Rom 1:7). You are loved by the Father (John 16:27). You no longer have any condemnation (Rom 8:1).  You have died to sin (Rom 6:2). You are protected from the evil one (John 17:5). You have all things under your feet (Eph 1:22).  You are holy and blameless in God’s sight (Eph 1:4b). You are healed by Christ’s wounds (1 Peter 2:24).The Holy Spirit dwells in you (2 Tim 1:14). You do not have a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind (2 Tim 1:7). These are but a few of the scriptures where God tells us who we are.  You need to know who you are so that you can have the victorious and abundant life that God has for you. You need to know who are so that you can take down enemy strongholds, cure the sick and cast out devils. Don’t listen to the world or the enemies lies, listen to what God says and stand in agreement with His word!

Prayer: Lord, I stand in agreement of what your word says about me. I rebuke any lies of the world or what the devil may say who I am. I thank you Lord that I am your friend and your child, and that you want every perfect gift for my life. I stand on your word and on your love for me. Thank you for making me your child and continue to teach me about who I am in Christ. I praise you and glorify you this day, in Jesus name.

By Pastor Ron DeGraw

Leave a Reply

